The Community of Communes of Soultzerland in a few words

Located in the territory of Northern Alsace, the community is located in the heart of the Outre Forêt region, a “remote” region because the Haguenau forest forms a real natural barrier between the city of Haguenau and the entire northern part of the Department.

Equidistant between Haguenau and Wissembourg, and between Woerth and Seltz, it is now opened up by the Haguenau bypass.

The organisation has existed since 27 December 2001 and is managed in Soultz-sous-Forêts. The cantonal capital (Capital City) provides 6 and the members Hoffen and Surbourg 4 delegates each. The other members are Keffenach, Memmelshoffen, Retschwiller and Schoenenbourg with 2 delegates each.

These municipalities felt that by joining together, they could better meet the new needs emerging from their respective populations.

The law on local freedoms and responsibilities required the Communities of Communes to define the Community interest before mid-August 2006. This was an essential step because it conditioned the coherence and good complementarity of the actions of the Community of Communes of Soultzerland and the member communes. The definition of the Community interest was an opportunity to re-mobilize all the forces of the territory to enable the Community of Communes to face the future and redefine its prospects in terms of skills and services to the population.

With effect from 1 January 2014, the association of municipalities merged with the Hattgau and surroundings community of municipalities to form the new Communauté de communes de l’Outre-Forêt.